Hong Kong Digest nameplate
news in brief
Four U.S. scientists awarded Shaw Prize

Chief Executive C.Y. Leung (third from left), officiates at the Shaw Prize award presentation ceremony at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. He is joined at the ceremony by the Shaw laureates.

Four distinguished American scientists have received the much coveted 2015 Shaw Prize, known as the Nobel Prize of the East, in recognition for their work in astronomy, life science and medicine, and mathematical sciences.

William J. Borucki, principal investigator for NASA’s Kepler mission, was awarded the Shaw Prize in astronomy; Professor Bonnie L. Bassler of Princeton University and Professor Everett Peter Greenberg of the University of Washington were the recipients of the Shaw Prize in life science and medicine; and Professor Henryk Iwaniec of Rutgers University shared the Shaw Prize in mathematical sciences with Professor Gerd Faltings of Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in Germany.

They received the awards from Hong Kong Chief Executive C.Y. Leung in Hong Kong on September 24.

Established by late Hong Kong media mogul and philanthropist Run Run Shaw in 2002, the Prize honors individuals who have achieved a significant breakthrough in academic and scientific research or applications and whose work has resulted in a positive and profound impact on mankind.


Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office address banner

If you have any questions or comments, write to the Editor at digest@hketony.gov.hk
You may unsubscribe by sending an e-mail to: digest@hketony.gov.hk

Copyright © 2015, Hong Kong Economic & Trade Office in New York